rump recordings releases

Icarus Sylt

Icarus - Sylt by rump

'Sylt' is Icarus' first album in two years, following the understated 'Carnivalesque' in 2005, and the acclaimed 'I Tweet the Birdy Electric' in 2004, over which time the duo Ollie Bown and Sam Britton have continued working on related projects in electroacoustic performance, composition and music-related research.
The album builds on the band's inquisitive approach to electronic music production acquired over 6 album releases spanning over a decade, and spread across a mix of record labels: The Leaf Label, Output, Hydrogen Dukebox, Temporary Residence, Not Applicable, and for this latest release, Rump Recordings.
'Sylt' was devised around two extended improvised tracks, 'First Inf(E)Rænce' and "Second Inf(E)Rænce', taken from one live performance in Toulouse in 2006. These recordings represent the accumulation of unreleased material built up over a spate of live performances as well as the documentation of the band's development of an improvised electronic music style in which flourishes of rhythmic and harmonic structures are restlessly set up against each other by the duo.
Alongside these live recordings, 'Sylt' also revisits the recognisable structures of Icarus' earlier anthemic style in tracks such as 'Keet' and 'Volks', outbursts of joyous rhythmic lunacy in the bricolage of 'Selfautoparent', and a developing sense of instrumental musique concrète in tracks such as 'Jyske' and 'Rugkiks'.